Durham Concerto

(Revised Edition, 2014)

jonlorddurham.jpgMorning: The Cathedral At Dawn; Durham Awakes
Afternoon: The Road From Lindisfarne; From Prebends Bridge
Evening: Rags And Galas; Durham Nocturne

soli: Hammond organ, violin, cello, Northumbrian pipes

3 (III=picc).2.ca.2.Eb.bcl.2.cfg-4.3 (I=opt.flg hn., III=picc tpt) ].3.1-T.4p (glock, xyl, mar, tgl, cyms (susp+pair) TT, tamb, SD, toms, BD, tub bells, Sleigh bell, wb). cel.2hp.str (min 16, 14, 12, 10, 8)

Duration 56’ (11’, 8’, 7’, 8’, 8’, 12’)

Commissioned by the University of Durham

Dedicated to John McLaren

World premiere: 20 October 2007, Durham Cathedral, UK
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra; Mischa Damev, conductor

World premiere of Revised Version: 19 May 2015, Stadhalle, Hagen, Germany. Hagen Philharmonic Orchestra, Paul Mann, conductor.

durham-concerto_61rzwsjtvyl_sl160_Recording: Ruth Palmer, violin; Kathryn Tickell, Northumbrian pipes; Matthew Barley, cello; Jon Lord, Hammond organ; Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra; Mischa Damev, conductor (Avie, AV 2145)

Full score and parts on hire
Study score on sale

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.