Reduced score: To Notice Such Things

Jon Lord’s music continues to trickle into published scores available to buy. Aimed at performers and/or students of Jon’s music, the scores are being meticulously prepared for publication by conductor Paul Mann a close friend of Jon’s.

A brand new score of Jon’s Durham Concerto is nearing publication by Schott Music, but many other works are already available. One is the new piano reduction of To Notice Such Things, Jon’s 2009 suite composed in memory of his friend John Mortimer.

Jon explained about the piece, “I wanted to give the flute the job of speaking for John throughout the Suite; his laughter and his sighs, his wistfulness and occasional mild cantankerousness, his playfulness, and also the anguish and then the acceptance of his final days.”

This new edition of the score contains as an appendix the speaker and piano version of Afterwards, the suite’s final movement. It is believed the piano for this was originally improvised by Jon in the studio, and was only taken down in paper for the Celebrating Jon Lord concert in April 2014 when Paul Mann performed it onstage with Jeremy Irons.

Read more:

About To Notice Such Things

To Notice Such Things:
Performance material
Study score
Piano reduction with solo part

Other works by Jon Lord available from Schott Music:

Study scorePerformance material

Boom of the Tingling Strings:
Study scorePiano reduction for 2 pianosPerformance material

More works by Jon Lord available from Music Shop Europe including Concerto for Group and Orchestra and Sarabande

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s